Skip to content ↓

The Charter School

Excellence for All

Parent Info

Welcome to The Charter School.

In this section of our website you should be able to find everything you need to know as a parent. Use the menu on the right to find lots of useful information.

You can download our latest newsletter (Autumn 2016) below; and also the programme of extra curricula after school and lucnhtime clubs and activities which will run from September 12th 2016. 

A new list of tutors and tutor groups from September 2016 can found in the most recent (July) newsletter and also in a separate list below. 

All key dates are set out below and also in the calendar on the homepage of this website. Dates of school trips for a range of subjects and year groups is in the 'school trips' section, see the menu on the right of this page. 

School closes 3pm Friday 21st October

HALF TERM 24th to 28th October inclusive

INSET day Monday October 31st School closed to pupils

Wednesday 2nd November Friends of The Charter School meeting 6.30pm

Thursday 3rd November Year 11 Achievement evening 4pm to 7pm

Thursday 10th November open evening 4.30pm to 7pm for prospective 6th form students and parents/carers

Wednesday 23rd November Year 12 Achievement evening 4pm to 7pm

Thursday 24th November Friends of the Charter Xmas Fair 5.30pm

Monday November 28th to Thursday 1st December Year 10 and Year 11 practice exams

Friday 2nd December school closed for INSET day

Wednesday 7th December Friends of The Charter meeting 6.30pm

Thursday 15th December Winter concert 6.30pm

Last day of term Wednesday 21st December at 1.10pm

Tuesday January 3rd school closed for INSET day

Wednesday January 4th school reopens at 8am for 8.25am

Thursday 5th January Year 10 Achievement evening 4pm to 7pm

Thursday 26th January Year 9 Achievement evening 4pm to 7pm

Wednesday 1st Feb to Friday 3rd Feb whole school production of 'Hairspray'

Wednesday 8th February Parent Forum evening All welcome time tbc

Thursday 9th February 6th Form information evening 5.30 Charter students 6.30pm external students

Half term February 13th to 17th inclusive

School reopens Monday 20th February

Thursday 9th March Year 8 Achievement evening 4pm to 7pm

Friday 10th March Friends of The Charter School Quiz night time tbc

Friday 31st March term ends 1.10pm

Easter holiday April 3rd to April 17th inclusive

School reopens Tuesday April 18th 8am for 8.25am

Monday 1st May bank holiday school closed

Thursday 4th May Year 7 Achievement evening 4pm to 7pm

School ends 3pm Friday 26th May

Half term May 29th to 2nd June

School reopens Monday 5th June at 8.25am

Monday 3rd July start of ‘Destinations Week’ for all Year 12 students

Thursday 6th July The Charter School Creative and Performing Arts Show (including summer concert)

Monday July 10th start of 'Destinations Week' for all Year 12 students. Year 8 pupils residential trips to Ashdown Forest during this week. 

Friday July 14th Sports Awards evening, time TBC

Monday July 17th Sports Day and start of ‘CR8 Week’

Monday July 17th start of work experience week for all Year 10 students

Friday 21st July term ends 1.10pm

Term starts Monday 4th September

Detailed information about our curriculum and about each year group can be found in the'Learning' section of this site.You can find guidance about how to use our 'Virtual Learning Environment' (VLE) below. 

Do please contact your child's tutor by email with any questions you may have about your child's learning. A list of tutors by year group can be found below. To email use the first letter of  your child's tutor's first name, then surname followed by @charter.southwark.sch.uk. Alternatively telephone our reception team on 0207 346 6600.

You can download our Safeguarding policy below. Other useful school policies can be found under 'About our School' in the 'policies' section.